• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Digital Cameras...again

JackF

Last December my wife and I decided to get a digital SLR. With assistance from you all, and reviewing the suggested sites, I ended up buying a Canon T1i. All of my Rebel lenses and accessories worked and fit so Canon was an easy choice. I have been an utter failure with this piece of equipment. Both of us found it very cumbersome dealing with the menus, etc. I am an occassional photographer and by the time I learned how to do something, by the time I wanted to do it again, I had to look it up again. Complicated, arcane menus for me. Not the cameras fault. Mine.

Based upon reviews at kenrockwell.com I recently purchased a Canon S90is. I will not buy another camera for a very long time. I can work this camera. It is as advanced a piece of equipment as I can handle.

When visiting my girls in April, the youngest grabbed the T1i and went off with it and had a great time and really enjoyed it. I'm sending it all to her. Another problem solved. Kids are expensive...if you do it this way!

All I can say is that you are not alone when it comes to the fancy features of digital SLR cameras. I've had my Nikon D3000 for 6 months and are still trying to take good pictures with it. Tom Madine gave me some good tips at this year's V@V (THANKS TOM!).

It takes lots of practice to shoot good photos. Thank goodness for digital media that you can delete/edit. The focal point is also kind of tricky to get right, especially for close-up shots. Where you stand is also important.