• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

New car salesmen

JackF

I'm in the market for a pick'emup truck, still. I've gone into a couple dealerships locally (Ford, GMC & Toyota). I suspect I'll end up with a Tacoma Access Cab 4x4, but an F150 is a definite maybe.

It is so weird today shopping at the dealership. I'm a salesman and I expect to be "sold" a vehicle. I'm looking for features and benefits. Comparative model to model, brand to brand. I haven't found one person able to give me what I'm looking for. You ask them a question and you pretty much get a blank stare. I had one guy tell me it wasn't important for them to know this info as I could and should (and do), get all this info on the internet and he was pretty much there to write up the deal. There have been a couple actually get kinda miffed at me for putting them in a bad spot. That is, making them look bad.

I'm going to try a new tact. I'm going to go to the service dept and ask the service mgr, which if any of his dealerships salesmen knows a damned thing. I would think that if this type behavior doesn't change then the auto dealer as we know it may as well go away. Order your car on line and take it to the "service dealership". I'm a commission sales agent and the thought of letting someone get paid for filling out the paperwork kinda drives me nuts. Am I just lucky in picking the morons? What do you see? out there?