• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Rant on non-wrenching

Kidasters

I have to spit this vitriol out somewhere, and this is where I will do it.

I've been reading a lot of places - both here and on a porsche site where people are complaining:

"This guy charged me $800 for an oil change"

"That guy charged me $500 for valve cover gasket replacement".

I just want to grab them and say "If you don't like that - then do it yourself you whiney sack of crap!"

I was a student once. I had no money. I remember changing the oil in my car in my parent's driveway. Don't tell me you don't have time. Don't tell me you don't have space. I did it it in a fricking dirt driveway once.

Granted - some tasks are more daunting that others. It's taken me MONTHS to do the interior in my 911. If you don't have time, that's one thing.

Or - if you are dropping the entire front subframe - that's another thing.

But - if nothing else - change YOUR OWN OIL.

Rant over. Pressure down......

Ken

FAQ Member # 2616

"What do you mean NEXT project?"

-- My wife.

Ken -

I hear you but the newer cars are a pain to work on and the parts are expensive (hence the high price to take it to someone). I recently replaced the (2) air filters and (12) plugs in my wife's 2002 Mercedes. Had to buy some Torx bits to change out the (2) Mann air filters from the underside of the huge air filter box (fancy plastic engine cover). It took me (2) nights to completely change out the NGK platinum plugs (6 per side on the V6 engine. This engine has (6) coil packs fastened to the valve covers using a torx bit and each coil pack has (2) spark plug leads that are very hard to pull off the plugs.