• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

R/C Truck Help

Justin76

I got my 8 year old brother an entry level R/C Truck for Christmas, and have a question I was hoping somebody here can help me with. I have no experience with r/c cars.

The truck is a Duratrax Evader EXT2 RTR.

I set up the ESC by following the enclosed instructions: turn controller on, turn ESC on, trigger forward for 2 seconds, trigger reverse for 2 seconds, wait for the ESC light to turn green.

The light turned green as it was supposed to, so I though I was good to go. I put the truck on the ground in my apartment, to test it out. Forward is good, it goes quickly with no issues. The problem is the braking/reverse. I'm not sure if these trucks are supposed to stop quickly, but when I press reverse on the trigger as the truck is moving forward, it takes a very long time to stop, it coasts for a while before anything happens. Is this normal?

Thanks for any help.

- Justin

'72 - 2533095 ex-auto, not stock

'76 - 2374191 PNO - boo, CA SMOG

Try and tap the trigger in reverse quickly and then hold it the second time. Most basic esc's won't let you go from forward to rerverse in one quick motion to prevent the trannys from stripping a spur gear (made of plastic).

If that doesn't work then I have a few other ideas.

I've never owned a duratrax car before but most speed controllers are pretty much the same. I have 6 R/C trucks that I raced a while back (before the days of owning a car or motorcycle). A couple of them go 0-60 in 3 seconds!

1966 2000ti Chamonix - old racer, new project

1967 1600 Bristol - stock as a rock

1976 2002 Pastellblau - Alpina tribute

Parts For Sale - The Paddock