• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Speedo to Tranny

AlohaRicky

Hey all. I am really new to this and learning as I go so I apologize in advance.

I've got a 71 '02 and am installing a new speedo cable as the last one i bought it with was no good.

How secure is the connection on the tranny side supposed to be? I've

got it in there but it just doesn't feel real solid. The previous owner had a ton of wire to keep the previous one tight and it was a pain to remove, didn't seem right.

Much thanks.

aa9eld.png

Perhaps a 74 is different, but it needed no wire. The metal part on the tranny end of the cable has a circumferential groove. You insert the cable into the hole in the tranny and there is a bolt to the right that you tighten. The end of the bold protrudes into the grooved portion of the cable end and holds it in place.

Byas

with a light - look up into the speedo drive hole.

With needle nose plyers - rotate the drive gear parts

out and inspect what you have. Sounds like the P Owner

was missing a bushing up in there and botched it together

just for you. Has the speedo worked for you ?

if not - a cable is not the issue - rather, missing pieces up

in the speedo drive hole.........

02outputflange.jpg

'86 R65 650cc #6128390 22,000m
'64 R27 250cc #383851 18,000m
'11 FORD Transit #T058971 28,000m "Truckette"
'13 500 ABARTH #DT600282 6,666m "TAZIO"

Thats really interesting. I will check again this afternoon. I have also gotten the impression from other things that this car was pretty frankenstien'ed together before I had it so that most def could be a possibility. Im just taking it one goal at a time.

I think the previous speedo cable was most certainly bad as well though, the actual line was mangled when I pulled it out. Mystery after Mystery :)