• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

72 Vacuum Questions

Dake

I'm very new to the vacuum system on cars in general. The PO removed nearly all of it, and it's a 72 so it had little in the way of valves etc. to begin with.  The car currently starts but then stalls and refuses to start again, and while I doubt any of this stuff will solve that, it's a step.

Question 1. I have a Pertronix Ignitor electronic distributor, so does that define whether or not I need vacuum advance or retard coming from the distributor? I read some topics where distributor advance was necessary and some where retard was necessary, and some where neither were hooked up.

Question 2. What vacuum lines will I be left with? I've read conflicting topics: some people plug all of the manifold holes and the brake vacuum assist system, while others connect some lines and plug others. I have circled and numbered some holes in the manifold, and my header shroud is long gone. Some of these holes might have nothing to do with vacuum; as stated, I'm a noob right now.

I'm a very visual person, so if someone could identify the circled items and their purpose, such as where the line should end, and importantly which are necessary and which can just be plugged.

1. Open hole

2. Open hole

3. Open hole

4. Has an open threaded hole at the bottom

5. Has a braided hose coming from it, but it's capped at the end.

6. Open hole. I've seen some people stick an air filter here.

7. Open hole.

8. Not pictured, but there's no line going to my brake booster for vacuum assist. I've read that line is not explicitly necessary but braking will be heavier. Where does it source from?

The only line to or from the carb is the fuel-in line, besides the water lines. It's a Weber 32/36.

Thanks everyone!