• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Hi all.

Before I get berated for not scouring the forums first, I have done so and have read many of the threads that sound like they are similar to my problem…I still haven't been able to fix the issue.

So my car is a stock 1971 2002. The ignition system is no longer a points and condenser system but a normal electronic distributor (I hope that's correct…forgive me..I'm still quite new to this all). It is worth mentioning that about a year ago I took the car on a long road trip (+- 1200 miles roundtrip) and on the way back, the car would splutter which would get worse and then it would die and only really run again once cooled down. Some of the smarter gentlemen that were with me (in Fords) figured out that it was my distributor overheating, and they assumed it was the insulation that was fading away inside as things got too hot. Anyway…winter came and I never addressed the issue and it never cropped up again. 

This current issue is in no way similar to that one, I just thought it would be worth mentioning in case it was related.

So my car has been running smoothly ever since then (except for that issue). The other night I decided to give it a bit of stick, as I do every so often, and after having come off the throttle, the car was all of a sudden idling quite roughly. On the overrun it was spluttering quite heavily.

Now, it doesn't want to start properly..it starts, but dies immediately, unless I give it some throttle. Once it's warm, it'll keep itself running, but idles very roughly.