• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Have You Seen This Blasphemy

ma.jomaa

Anyone care to point how this new stupid 2 series pays any tribute to the 02?

I'm no car designer but for the life of me I can't see anything that remotely resembles our beloved 02's. What the hell is going on with BMW, they re-badge the 3 series coupe and call it a 4 series, they come up with a GranCoupe 6 series(really a 4 door 6 series) and now this shit. I thought it was a 3 series until the end of the commercial.

Why can't BMW take note of what Ford did when they resurrected the mustang , If you were going to create a whole "new" series(I put new in quotations as I believe our cars are the true 2 series) to pay tribute to the 02. Why not make a car that's a little boxier(I'm all for aerodynamics but come on), why not put that straight one piece or two piece minimalist dash and get rid of the gizmos and gadgets and to top it all off this this weighs at 3100lbs. Heck Toyota wanted to make something to pay tribute to their 80's corolla the AE86 and they did it by keeping the car true to it's origins, very minimal, bare bones handling machine.

End of rant, what do you think???

Link to video

http://vimeo.com/85836941

1979 e21 318 (sold)

1975 Inka (sold)

1983 e21 320i (sold)

1974 Polaris (sold)

1975 M42 Swap (work in progress)

End of rant, what do you think???

Here's what I think..(and I do agree with you)

Probably a nice handling mobile with all the things that new modern cars have, such as my wife's Lexus.

Nice but boring.

Not at all like an 02…..But what young person would buy one?  BMW is in the business to sell cars that are trick, have creature comforts et cetera, and market most of their cars to 30 somethings.