• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Steering Wheel/column Shaking And Engine/tranny Shaking

DionM

Hello. First time posting on here. Have owned my 1975 pastelblau 02 since 2009. Never worked on it myself. Have only been taking to mechanics (Bav Professionals in Berkeley and now Little Garage -- Matt Meng -- in Huntington, NY), but it's getting expensive and I'm now fully curious to learn how these things work myself. Replaced my license plate light assemblies myself the other day (I know it's small beans, but it was fun and it gave me confidence). I have the Haynes book and I've been told to just memorize the thing by a friend, Nick, who owns 3 02s out in South Hampton. My 02 is my daily driver. I am a grad student and do not have the money for any kind of big restoration at the moment. I just keep it functioning as well as possible to get me where I need to go (mostly to the beach--I'm a surfer). In the past 3 years I've had the starter replaced, tie rods replaced, and have gotten a new head. There have been a few other minor fixes, but nothing too big, some brake pads and a new front windscreen (rock hit old one while driving on the 495 to Long Island). I've been told both by Matt at Little Garage and Nick (guy in the Hamptons) that my pistons are leaking and my engine is losing compression. When I'm driving over 55 and I have to suddenly take my foot off of the gas a puff of blue smoke comes out the exhaust. That is the only time it smokes. Car burns oil like a mofo. Now the shaking: When I'm idling the engine and transmission shake quite a bit. The gauges bounce a little and sometimes the oil light flickers on and off. I am wondering what is causing this shaking. It's almost like the car is shuddering. I'm thinking this has to do with the poor compression, but is it also