• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Clutch Pedal -- Randomly, No Resistance?!

S-L

Hello, more noob questions.

I've been driving my '02 as a daily for well over 4 months with absolutely not a single hiccup (other than a fuel leak, due to it being my fault). But, I think I've stumbled upon my first problem.

I was driving and noticed that the pedal randomly had nearly no pressure when pressing down; therefore, it'd pretty much just go straight down into the car wall with no resistance. That resistance comes and goes throughout my drives, but definitely frustrating when it doesn't allow me to switch to first on a stoplight because its either grinding or just won't (I'm guessing because the transmission "thinks" the pedal isn't down). I'm not sure really what the case here, but I'm gonna need some help.

Not to mention a random fuel leak that just started yesterday, but I think I got that handled.

Appreciate all the help in advance, and would be glad to answer any questions to diagnose or fix what is wrong with my transmission.

Thanks.

-Slavik

+1 Mint.

My first thought is the rubber cup(s) inside the clutch master cylinder are dirty and you're getting occasional fluid bypass.  Or it could be the clutch slave cylinder with that problem.  Or of course, both.

You mention "transmission" but I don't believe that is the problem ..... it is a hydraulics problem.

The Easy Fix:  make sure your master cylinder is at the proper "fill" level.  The "easy" part is maybe that is the entire problem:  low fluid level and nothing is leaking.