• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Rotted Front Shock Tower

smithgrind

Hello,

I'm looking at a 71' for sale that has some pretty good rot in the passenger shock tower. The driver side tower a little something going on too.

I have very little experience with welding and wanted to get an opinion on how complicated this repair can get? The rest of the car looks pretty solid.

The guy is asking around $3500 and I'm not sure it's worth it. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks much!

I have learned that just about anything can be fixed when it comes to these cars, but not without some major costs if repairing rusted out structural components. Without pics it is hard to make a educated guess but based on your comments the best money you could spend, would  be to look for another in better condition. Unless of course you have time and money to spend on this one.

Good luck with whatever you decide

Mike 

If serious rust has set in there in a comparatively accessible place, what is lurking in more hidden spots? I would tread carefully here, especially if you haven't done this work before yourself.

Edited by Simeon

rtheriaque wrote:

Carbs: They're necessary and barely controlled fuel leaks that sometimes match the air passing through them.

My build blog:http://www.bmw2002faq.com/blog/163-simeons-blog/