• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Hi everyone, has anyone updated their stock alternator to the BNR 95 amp high output alternator. I talked to them and they said it has an internal regulator and all I would have to do is to cut one wire to do the upgrade. If anyone has done this upgrade have, you kept your old voltage regulator? What are the pros and cons? Thank you for your time.

If you don't drive it hard, give it to someone who will!

I have no personal experience with them, but I sure have read a lot of threads about them.

The one that comes to mind was  BNR   Basically Not Reliable... or something like that.

I just typed BNR in the search window and checked 'Google' from the drop down menu.

These results came up 

http://www.bmw2002faq.com/index.php?s=7abdff026c3442d795516153f0e67ac5&app=googlecse#gsc.tab=0&gsc.q=BNR

(I don't mean to be antisocial, just trying to be helpful)

I had a BNR 90 amp alt. I kept my voltage regulator...in a box with other junk I don't need.

I've since upgraded to a Bosch 90Amp alternator from an 84-85 318i. Best thing about it is the adjusting nut. Adjusting the belt is a piece of cake.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

- Project 67' 1600-2

- Pig Cheek 71' 1602

Great easy mod. Try the search for complete install instructions, also if I recall the voltage regulator is removed and tossed in your neighbors pool.

FO 2573825

1971 2002, 5-OD, Recaro SE, BBK, 90Amp Alt, Turbines, VDO, Hellas, BD belts, LED Tails, 10 Foot DD