• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Understanding signal light lenses

Cruzr

Hello:

Seeking help from the experts regarding these lenses.IMG_20170322_132031.jpgIMG_20170322_132116.jpg

The molded lens shows a SAE IPP1 number with a 71 for two of the lenses and a 66 for the flat lens.

Is that the year of manufacture?

The back of the lenses shows one with the parking light bulb. The reflector is metallic, whereas the one with the dual filament bulb socket has a plastic reflector. The flat lense also has a metal reflector.

I am thinking of selling them, and would like to describe the model year application correctly.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

Robert in NJ
73 2002 (Verona)

72 2002tii (Verona)

I am not an expert.  Below is the extend of my knowledge.

1)  71 and 66 are not the manufacturing years.  I do not know what they mean.

2)  The ones with the flat lenses are known as Euro turn signals.

3)  The one with the plastic reflector comes with the bulging amber lens to enhance visibility  Notice how the location of the lamp socket also extend out toward the lens.  This is the US turn signal. 

4)  I've not seen the metal reflector that comes with a single bulb and with only one spring contact in one of your pictures.  Typically, there are two lamp sockets.  The large one in the back is for turn signals, the one in the front is for indicator/driving light.

5)  There is also a US turn signal with the metal reflector extended out toward the lens.  But, the locations of the lamp sockets are the same as the Euro style.

GLWS

Edited by Tsingtao_1903

Can't help much with the numbers on the lenses themselves, but...

Here's the decode for the three lenses in the second picture you posted: