• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Help with Horn Button ( not working)

floatinghead

Two things to note:  I’m a relatively newbie mechanic even though I’ve had my 02 for a while.  This forum is a huge resource though.  I searched through lots of different horn button issues which helped, but hasn’t pushed me across the finish line on this one to get it fixed.

Background: A friend gave me a momo copy steering wheel over the summer to replace my original bus wheel and have enjoyed the new feel and size, but didn't have a horn button to finish the job.  I had to tape the end of the wire on the wheel inside the hub because it would complete the circuit and make the horn beep while turning.  Since then my mechanic did some work on the car (not horn related: new springs, tie rods, water pump) and when I recently  bought an Ebay horn and went to install it, i noticed the wire in the wheel wasn't making the horn beep when it touched the inside of the hub.  I pulled the new wheel and put the old one on and still got nothing.  Wasn't sure if something got bumped or pulled when my mechanic was fixing the other stuff or maybe I did something in that time. 

OK, so some things i've checked:

- horn does work ( connected wires to a power source and it beeped!)