• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Brake master Cylinder fault?

Chris Z

Hi everyone, my brake master Cylinder I believe has gone, ive got brake fluid in the foot well... and no brakes, the pedal goes to the floor. I've got a 1974 02 E6, I've had a look on the net and can't seem to find one that looks the same? I'm no expert and don't know what else may be compatible? Any help would be much appreciated. Cheers, p.s I'm in the UK. 

20190512_094621.jpg

20190512_094612.jpg

20190512_094617.jpg

20190406_150236.jpg

Chris,

the pushrod seal has failed, you need to get the cylinder rebuilt. Replacing it is tough because this is an RHD-only part.

The rebuild kit is available, take care not to damage the cast iron part when removing the old piston...dont whack it too hard, use a grease gun to pump the pistons out if they are stuck.

dave

'59 Morris Minor, '67 Triumph TR4A, '68 Silver Shadow, '72 2002tii, '73 Jaguar E-Type,

'73 2002tii w/Alpina mods , '74 2002turbo, '85 Alfa Spider, '03 Lotus Elise

4 minutes ago, dlacey said:

Chris,

the pushrod seal has failed, you need to get the cylinder rebuilt. Replacing it is tough because this is an RHD-only part.

The rebuild kit is available, take care not to damage the cast iron part when removing the old piston...dont whack it too hard, use a grease gun to pump the pistons out if they are stuck.

dave

Ok, thanks Dave I think a repair kit is the answer then. Its something I can order off Ebay or auto doc I hope? Regards Chris 

https://www.jaymic.com/brake-master-cylinder-repair-kit-rhd-bmw.html

you will likely need to hone the bore to make sure the surface is in good condition...you can do that with a piece of emery cloth wrapped around a wooden dowel mounted in an electric drill...there are proper tools, but that is adequate..