• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

A complete 2002 rebuild.

rjd2

Hey folks, hope you all are healthy and well. Apologies if this has been covered in the past; I searched and didn't find the info I was looking for.

I have a 2002 that I have been very slowly doing a full restoration on. This is my first time doing a complete nut and bolt restoration on a car. It is my second E10, so I have both a running and driving "template" car, as well as a fair amount of familiarity with these cars. Assembly of doors, glass, and interior I have already done on my first car, so I'm confident there. What this is my FIRST time doing is a complete reassembly of the engine, cooling, and fuel delivery system. Here's my starting point:

-1973 roundtail car, stripped to shell. repainted in the factory torquise metallic of the 3.0CSL. undercarriage and interior coated.

-short block freshly rebuilt by Fowler engines. new pistons.

-freshly rebuilt E12 head.

-freshly rebuilt Getrag 245 5 speed.

-3.9 LSD

-freshly rebuilt weber carb

the car currently has the steering column attached, and the original working brakes and suspension. i've got new motor mounts and a gasket set. I know this may be asking alot, but as I've never done a full reassembly before, I'd love to have any tips or tricks that would be smart to think about before i get too far down any road, and have to backtrack. i've got an engine lift, engine stand, and am working out of a space that gives me access to a 2 post lift. my goal is to have a game plan, and then execute. figure i can have it together in 2-3 weeks. I KID. 2 years is probably more realistic, but that's ok. on the other side, i hope to have what should be as close to a 1+/-2 condition car. thanks so much for any advance tips!!! -RJ

IMG_4737 2.JPG

IMG_4736 2.JPG