• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Dash indicator lights (turn signal/high beam) inoperable

Happy new year, everyone.  

Those of you who have followed the saga of Zouave’s fuel delivery issues know I am not that good at diagnosis.  But that I am hell on a cure when a problem arises, and will often do way too much curing before I figure out what went wrong in the first place. In the spirit of keeping that to a minimum, Zouave has another problem, this one probably a result of all the electrical troubleshooting I did in connection with the fuel delivery issues.

It is this: in reassembling the instrument binnacle after thoroughly checking out the tach wiring, I at first had no problems at all. Then, when I was driving Zouave, my blinkers failed and every time I flicked the stalk I got a harsh intermittent buzzing sound from the relay.  I fiddled around with it all a bit and then the blinkers worked — and with less buzz from the relay — but some buzz, and the relay and blinkers still going too fast.  And no green dash light.  For that matter, no blue high beam light -- everything else on the panel splendid.  Every related system on the car works too — turn signal lights, brights, emergency flashers. Just no green or blue lights on the dash, and the fast flashing.

I have done the following:

• While I had the instruments out for troubleshooting, I made a ground strap for the temp and oil gauges.  I have connected and disconnected that in troubleshooting the current problem, though I don’t think it should change anything (disconnecting the new ground certainly didn’t fix the problem)