• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Should LSD make noise on hard turns?

Guest Anonymous

Guest Anonymous

Sorry, but I have no prior experience with E21 LSD's. I have no unusual noises going straight or 'normal' corners, but on a hard corner I hear what almost sounds like a rubbing noise from the outside rear.

Normal? (can't find evidence of tire rub)

Thanks!

John N.

Guest Anonymous

I have a similar problem and a bunch of new c/v joints that need to go in. But now I'm thinking, since I KNOW the diff mount is dead, maybe that's the problem.

Let me know what you find out.

Thanks,

Robert

Guest Anonymous

If it happens in slow turns its probably the inside tire slipping to make up for the lock up, What lock up percentage are you running, my 70% makes noise in any slow turn even in reverse....Marty....

Guest Anonymous

URL: http://www.redlineoil.com/redlineoil/lsdfmbti.htm

Sometimes the clutches get a little dirty and you can hear a noise on slow turns. There is an additive (IIRC) that will clean it up. You may do well to change to redline and use the additive (I think it is called GL-5) available at your local Chebby dealer. This was the problem and solution on my M635. Look at the redline link.

Guest Anonymous