• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Really stupid ballery question

andreas

ok, so I'm still a bit new to 2002 (or any car) mechanics, but I've been at it for a few years now and am learning things, but I have to admit that I feel like a total moron right now because my battery is dead and I can't find info in archives here or in any of the 3 manuals for the 02 I have that explain exactly what kind of battery to get - I'm missing something obvious, right?!

I guess I'm looking for group size, cca, and Rc right?

so what are the spec for our batteries (sorry for stupid question)?

Andreas

i don't know the size or whatever, but the stock battery I got out of a 91 toyota pickup fit perfectly -- and it had a little pop up handle so you can drop it into that tight little spot and pull it out easy.

on the tii you have to do some serious wedging to get a regular sized battery in there

Unless you have special needs for your battery, you should just be able to go to any parts store and tell them the make, model, and year of your car, and they'll give you one that will work. In some places like Wal-Mart you might have to look it up yourself in their little book or computer.

Keep in mind that a generic battery might not fit well with your factory hold-down. The perfectionists get a pricey battery from BMW dealerships I think.

But usually a proper hold-down isn't that important, unless you autocross, in which case they really make sure the battery is held in tight.

Bring a Welder

1974 2002, 1965 Datsun L320 truck, 1981 Yamaha XS400, 1983 Yamaha RX50, 1992 Miata Miata drivetrain waiting on a Locost frame, 1999 Toyota Land Cruiser