• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

'71 2002 question

MitchellB

hi folks, i'm a newbie...in fact, i don't yet own a 2002 but i'm working on it. i've wanted one since the early 80's when i first drove a friend's '76. anyway, i'm finally in a position to own one and have driven several local (portland, or) 2002's - some with upgrades and others mostly original. i've found a '71 one state away that's in really amazing original condition. no known rust issues, interior in very good condition. mechanically, the car had an engine rebuild about 10K miles ago and the previous owner was very meticulous about maintaining the car. i spoke to the bmw mechanic that serviced it and he felt it was a great car. i've been reading the faq for weeks now and find that not only am i inspired by the project blogs as well as the daily posts but i'm also a little bit intimidated by the amazing wealth of knowledge that you folks seem to possess. this '71's mechanic has told me that working on a 2002 is as simple as working on a bicycle. if that's true then i'm in great shape since i cycle and tune my own bike. i've also done basic tune up procedures on my cars but wonder if i've got what it takes to own and maintain a 2002.

so i'm hoping for some moral support. any thoughts or comments about your first 2002 experience would be appreciated. thanks. mitch

i got my start with mechanics working on my own bicycles as a kid. if you've done the same, you are ahead of the game. if you've found a very nice original condition 02 that hasn't been modified extensively, count yourself fortunate.

as you've read posts there's certain recurring themes and a search of archives is helpful.