• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

HVLP "Turbine" D.I.Y. Painting

bugtustlebub

Esteemed FAQ members,

I've seen these systems, and some are sold with a 30-day money-back.

Anyone, here, want to chime in on having used one to paint a vehicle?

I don't really need to/want to have a big compressor sitting around, unused.

Your input is appreciated!

Regards,

Randy Bryant

Elkton, VA

"To live life without belief is more terrible than dying...., even more terrible than dying young." Joan of Arc

"It is not a sign of good health to be well adjusted to a sick society." J. Krishnamurti

I have never used one before but I will tell you to check and make sure it has the proper air pressure. Today's high solid clears take quite a bit of air pressure to properly atomize them. With a regular hvlp you usually will have to crank the air pressure up a bit to spray the high solid clears. From what I read a "turbine" gun uses 5-7 psi where a regular hvlp uses around 35-40 psi. I don't know how well that low of an air pressure will atomize the high solids materials. A single stage enamel would be the same. Also if you do go this route see if you can get a gravity fed gun instead of a siphon fed. You waste a lot of material with a siphon fed gun. Teeto.

Looking for a restorable BMW 2002.

teeto,

Thanks, man. I'll check out those pressures. For sure, gravity fed makes logical sense.

So did you paint, too, when working in the resto shop? I'd love to apprentice at one, for my own education. I only need two things to do it; time and money.

Regards,

Randy Bryant

Elkton, VA

"To live life without belief is more terrible than dying...., even more terrible than dying young." Joan of Arc

"It is not a sign of good health to be well adjusted to a sick society." J. Krishnamurti