• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Rijco's 76 2002 mild restoration project

rijco

I'm new to this bb, live near Seattle and just bought a 76 02 which I intend to bring back to full reliability for my 21 y.o. son in Colorado who is currently in engineering school and ready for his first car. The car is from New Mexico, but has spent a few years in Oregon getting updated regularly before I bought it locally for $2800.00 (yesterday in fact). Jade Green exterior, tan interior, 129K miles.

I spent the day today putting the car on the lift at Group 2 in Seattle and going over the entire car with their head mechanic (they maintain my Alfa S4 Spider and are great guys). The short version is that the car is miraculously free of rust except in the spare tire well and a few really superficial spots on the driver door and at the trunk lid hinges.

The whole drivetrain runs exceptionally well - clearly there's been some significant updating in this area - and other than oil leaks from all the usual places, it's mechanically sound. Going 80 down the freeway feels effortless and secure at something under 4500rpm. The engine has plenty of pull all through the gears and the sychros are all perfect even on a power downshift into second. The clutch pulls uphill under load and will kill the engine before slipping when lugged.

The steering is a bit vague, so I suspect the steering box is probably original. Front suspension needs all new bushings, but doesn't look too bad. All the boots are still intact. The rebound on the Bilsteins seems ok, but I suspect fresh shocks would really help.