• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

New, first project. Help! Where to start?

Guest Anonymous

Guest Anonymous

Okay, bear with me, I am new to this. I have long had an affinity for '02s, even bought a running car with frame issues in college, but with no where to store or work on it, sold it (doh!). I recently came into a free car that appears to be a good starting point for a working, running car. There is naught but light surface rust anywhere, towers are clean, door sills, everything. Car was running and driven 5 years ago, though the tranny was funky. Then, she was vandalized (all lights and glass destroyed) and stored for 4 years. The guy I got it from had it stored in a leaky garage bay. When we pulled it out the brakes were all frozen. Towed it home, hooked up a battery and it started right up. All electricals appear to work. Runs and hold an idle as long as I run it, but white smoke (greater in volume when throttle is depressed) comes from right side of the engine. I can't get it into gear to drive it, either.

I am not a mechanic, but have several manuals and willing accomplices. My question is, where should I start? I am getting glass soon, so it is not exposed to weather.

Any thoughts? Oh, it is a '74 4 speed, yellow.

Thanks!

Once you get it sealed from the weather address the mechanical that will make it reliable and safe.

Go through the brakes to get them working correctly and replace the fluid.

Ground points are notorious on the 02 so look in your manual to find them and inspect and clean them. Add a ground from the back of your instrument panel to the metal behind the dash.

Check all the rubber bushings and replace if needed. Check the ball joints,tie rod ends... for play. I am guessing you need new tires.