• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

1976 Rolling Restoration

smassoni

This will be a journal of the partial restoration of my 1976 California 2002. I say partial now, but I know I have big dreams for it in the future (or possibly another '02, if the body on this one turns out to be more heartache than heart-throb). I figure it's best to post it here, so the experts can read it and assess it, rather than it's current blog-home.

Some background on the vehicle I'll list here and also at my rarely-updated website devoted specifically to the car www.prest-rat.livejournal.com.

I'll begin by stating here and now that I am NOT a mechanically-inclined person. I, like many people, have owned a series of random cars that would get me from point A to point B with little attention or interest from me, barring my first 3 cars back in the late 80s which included a 1975 Super Beetle (tetanus trap), a 1970 Beetle (still, outside the '02, the love of my life), and a 1971 VW pop-top camper (think an '02 is a $$ pit?).

This car was manufactured in January of 1976 in Munich, VIN# 2378461; original color was Jadegrun, a color that I see listed as being used almost exclusively on Targas. However, I discovered that it had a very poor respray who knows how long ago, the color being lighter and slightly more metallic than the original. It is a Getrag 4-speed, with (non-functional) AC and of course all the regulation smog equipment weighing it down.

This vehicle was a single-owner California car; the seller worked at CalArts in the 70s, and this vehicle was owned by them for the first 6 months of its life while he drove it, and then purchased it from them. It even still has the dealer plate-surround on the rear "Tom Ray" in Los Angeles.