• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Buying a 2002, help?

I'm brand new to 2002's, I've always read about them and love them, my current first and only car is a 2000 Z3. I'm a huge BMW fan and I especially dig the 2002's so here's what I'm looking at.

There's a 1972 2002 (non-tii I think, it's got round tails), it's selling for $1500 right now near me. It's got a lot of rust on the driver-side front fender, and minor rust sporadically over it. I checked the inside fender wells and suspension supports and they look fine. The car definitely needs some aesthetic reconditioning.

The mechanic said he got the car to start when he put some fuel in the carb, but the battery was dead when I tried it so no luck with that. Also I found a transmission bell housing in the trunk, I'm assuming it's missing a tranny? The radiator looked a bit messy so that would probably need replacing, but the engine bay looked decent for a 36 year old car.

There's no major body damage as far as I can tell, and I would be replacing suspension/brake component's anyways.

So what do you guys think? Is it a good buy for $1500? I've never restored a car before and have minimal engine work experience but I have plenty of friends willing to help me out with it.

Thanks in advance chaps.

I bet if you looked some more you could find one with minimal rust, runs, but pay twice as much and still come out ahead. My 2 cents.

Agree.....Run away from it, you can do better.

Steve

Sm2o.jpg

1974 Inka 1802 Touring, New Daily Driver

1976 Inka 2002 Original Owner (adopted by Scott B.)

My Roundies are bigger than yours

Dfor:

I'm a newbie as well, so I will leave technical information/advice to the more experienced brethren/sisteren on the FAQ.