• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

New 1975 Project, looking for a few pointers

Hi, I'm Merek, and I recently bought a 1975 BMW 2002, non tii or any of that. I am very new to working on cars, and get pointers for a friend in the rally business, although I am not actually making my car into a race car. So far I have installed Eibach Springs and KYB Shocks, and have bought 40 DCOE mikuni side-draft carbs, a performance header, and more parts for touch-ups.. ie window seals and e30 M3 sports seats etc.

Regarding the engine, it runs, just not smoothly, and has a lot of trouble starting, with lots of help from starter fluid. Testing it out, it got up to above 60 with no problem, but I haven't pushed it past that.

At the moment, to pass inspection, it just needs the exhaust system to be replaced, and some work on the lights, but wiring is simple, and worst comes to worst, I simply have to buy a new bulb.

The car has some rust in the floor pan, which I am about to work on, however there is a lot of rust on the frame rails... has anyone replaced frame rails before, and have any tips about the procedure?

Unfortunately my budget is quite limited, cause I am still in high school, and I bought this car to work on after school as a hobby and so I could have a car to drive.

After these changes, I plan to replace most of the interior and buy turbo flares and a fiberglass turbo spoiler, although I know polythelyne (or however you spell that) is better, there are only fiberglass "turbo" spoilers, which in my opinion, look way more awesome.

Thanks for the help.

post-12061-13667589805374_thumb.jpg

'75 2002