• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Driving lights

adamm

I've been doing a bit of reading in the archives but couldn't find really the answers I was looking for and I'm a novice on this topic...

I do a lot of country lane driving at night and find that my standard lights aren't quite up to scratch, so what would people recommend?

I'm not clear on the difference between 'driving' lights or 'spots'? Are driving lights used in conjunction with the dipped beams on and the spots used with full beams?

Do people find it better to have the additional lighting all the time or just in 'full beam situations' ie with no oncoming traffic?

Also, I'm assuming that the auxiliary lights are controlled with just the existing switches?

Finally, Cibie, or Hella or no difference?

Cheers!

'73 tii arancio borealis - finished?!

'74 lux fjord - gone :(

'73 3.0csi polaris

Also, instead of adding lights, you could simply upgrade the existing lights to h4s.I don't know what parts your guys' 02s use, but I am sure that someone will chime in soon.

Another way to brighter lights is to put in a larger alternator.

Finally, another way is to shorten the amount of wire that the power must go through to get to the lights. This means adding a relay much closer to the headlights so that the power need not travel as far. A 10% reduction in voltage results in a 30% reduction in the amount of light that a bulb produces.

HTH,

Jay Swift

J Swift
Global Formula Racing (Oregon State University)

1972 Opel GT "Mae"

Hi Jay, I should have added that my lights are already relay'd H4s so I think I've gone as far as I can with the stock light set up!

Cheers

adam

'73 3.0csi polaris

.....well then if you already have H4 lights -

then your problem is improper light alignment