• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Project B-ohM-W - Electric Conversion (Purists - don't look)

I've been a lurker for some time now and have finally gotten up the courage to post my project. I realize this is going to make the purists cringe since I am completely changing everything on the car. I hope you guys won't hold it against me.

So here we go - It's a '75 that had a tired engine (250k miles) that we decided to convert to full electric. I've been doing the conversion for about 9 months now and have finally gotten it driveable. Now we are in the process of doing the paint and body work.

I have plenty of pictures of each step of the conversion but to save server space, I'll just post some of the highlights.

ICE removal:

ICE_removal_014.jpg

Naked engine compartment:

ICE_removal_021.jpg

Warp9 motor being mated to the stock 4-speed transmission:

IMG_00411.jpg

Motor and transmission installed:

IMG_00611.jpg

Living in Florida, we had to retain the A/C. We used the existing Behr unit but replaced the compressor with one used on late model Chevy S10's. The guys at RebirthAuto in Saint Petersburg, Florida did most of the conversion and machined all of the billet aluminum mounts and adapters for the project.

A/C compressor mounted on motor:

724_DSC02432.jpg

724_DSC02445.jpg

After lots of measuring, we determined that we could only fit a total of 11 batteries in the available space of the trunk and under the hood. My requirements were to give me enough power that I could make a 40 mile trip on a single charge. We went with 11 gel batteries that provided 105 amp-hours per battery. Three were mounted in the engine compartment, four behind the back seat (between the wheels), and four in the space where the gas tank used to reside.