• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

02 Vintage Race Car project, Heidegger replica

pkuchay

Hi all,

After a two year absence from the board I am coming back to throw out some feelers about a project that I started two years ago at SCR. Here is a link to the project. After two very successful years of Vintage Racing a 1967 Porsche 911S I still feel a calling back to my routes with a 2002.

Here are the clouding issues. The way vintage racing is set up both Porsche 911's (C Production cars) and BMW 2002's (B-sedan) typically run together. If I build another B-Sedan I will be exactly where I have been racing for the last two years in big bore, running in the top third of the field but I can't touch the Porsche RSR's that run in the club, let alone the 700 HP Corvette and Can Am Cars. I believe the RSR's can be touched with the right car.

The great news is that my tub with cage is sitting in Connecticut at Sports Car Restoration. I have emailed back and forth with Mark M about his race car project and have spent a fair amount of time on his web page www.alpinabmw2002.com. Here is my conundrum and here is where I am looking to the board for ideas and input.

Project goals:

- FIA Gr 2 or 5 emulation

- 275 HP or more, either M-10 based or M12/7 (preferred but super rare)

- No turbo's

- 5 speed close ratio

- Target weight of under 1,900 pounds

- Reliable

- Great handling

- Wide body, either full Alpina flares or body kit to emulate Gp 5

The M12/7 motor is attractive because the 2 liter version of this motor puts out north of 300 HP, however, I wonder about it's reliability and cost to maintain. Can't use S14 motors because they are not period correct for vintage racing.